Tags

,

Another cooler than usual Summer day found me pulling out the spices for dinner again.  This time I made a creamy veg curry w/ cashews.  The recipe was new, but the book was not.  I feel a little guilty plugging “Market Vegetarian” again, but it really is my go-to recipe book.

My adapted version goes something like this….  Start with 2T of vegetable oil in a frying pan over medium heat.  Add 3/4 cup cashews and 4 large shallots (peeled and halved) & cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.  Add 1 tsp mustard seeds and a very generous tablespoon of curry powder.  The seeds will pop pretty quickly, so turn down the heat and add 2 chopped garlic cloves, 2 T grated ginger, 1 tsp of turmeric, 1 tsp (more or less depending on your heat tolerance) of crushed red chilis, & a thinly sliced red (I used orange) bell pepper to the pan and cook for 2-3 minutes.

Add 1/4 cup tomato sauce, 8-10 quartered small new potatoes, and a 14-oz. can of coconut milk (after looking at the calories, I used less than a can, but added water – hence skim coconut milk…  ;) ).  Let simmer gently over low to medium heat for 20 minutes or until the potatoes are done.  Serve over basmati rice.  Enjoy.

As I said, this was the first go-round with this recipe and it received 3.5 thumbs up (out of 4) around the dinner table.  No one left hungry and none of it was left.  I like a little more heat, but don’t like to punish the family, so I always add a little vindaloo curry paste to up the heat factor.  Yum.

I’ll end by promising to make Nicholas whatever he wants this week to make up for trying something new.  That is IF he reads this…

Have a fantastic week!  s. xo

