Tags

In my last post, I promised that today I would be able to report some concrete progress being made on the clutter front.   While nothing overwhelming, we did manage some definite reduction in certain areas such as clothing, movies, games and books.  The book thing was way overdue.  Among other things, I hauled out a significant quantity of assorted dust-laden paperbacks that I’d forgotten I still had.  Forgotten because they have been carted around through numerous moves; from Newfoundland to Victoria to Edmonton to Surrey.

I expect the reason these books remain with me is simply due to the moving process, which is inevitably exhausting.  By the time you get down to the small stuff like books, it is much easier to throw them into yet another box and endure the sorting and paring process at a later point.   The problem is, of course, that this point usually doesn’t come.

And it probably still wouldn’t have come if not for the austerity measures we’ve undertaken.   I have to say that it does feel good to see piles of these books sitting on the hall floor, ready to be boxed up and dropped off at Salvation Army or with some other unwitting recipient.  No doubt there are countless Blue Hairs out there who would love to get their hands on “North Star” by Hammond Innes, “Running Blind” by Desmond Bagley, and “The Golden Rendezvous” by Alistair MacLean.

You might be thinking:  What the hell are you doing reading that garbage? Well, in my defense, many of these books have been with me for decades, and I would like to think that I have notched up my sophistication since then. This may be debatable.

In my next post, I will take a few lines to enlighten you about my research about the word “Austere”.   I figure it means something more than what it might conjure i.e. a    bunch of people living in a bomb shelter eating bread and water and fighting to the death over an orange peel, or a monk sequestered somewhere in the Himalayas.    Surely, I need to truly understand what I’m up against.

Oh, by the way, did you know that the word “Austere” is now one of the most Googled words?  And its not just because Nicolas Sarkozy and the bloody Europeans can’t manage their pocket books.

Chat with you on Friday.

Glenn

