Tags

Well, it’s Friday again, and freshly back from another business trip back east.  Fresh doesn’t refer to how I feel however, and I have to say that writing this entry within a three-hour jetlag haze will be quite difficult I’m thinking.  Then again, looking at Sarah’s last blog, the austerity measures commented on seemed limited to a reduction in PVR memory.   So, I won’t feel bad when I have little to offer on this front :).

I had been wondering how I would take austerity into four days of business meetings.   On the spiritual side, I had hoped to spend some portion of my evenings in my hotel room in meditation.  Ah, I don’t think so.  Kind of hard to block out the white noise of life with kids engaged in a wrestling match next door.   And no matter how nice hotels may be (and I have stayed in hundreds over the years) and how hard they try, they consistently fall short of the mark of making one feel at home.  There is only one home for me.   And I was missing it big time, as I always do.

Come to think of it, one goal I had for myself this week as I do at all meetings actually runs somewhat contrary to one definition of austerity.    Namely… “severe or stern in disposition or appearance; somber and grave”; as in “the austere figure of a Puritan minister””.

Okay.  The puritan thing is definitely not me.   The somber and grave thing, though, well I have been accused of exhibiting these traits on occasion.  I have not inherited the social gene; just ask any one of my two friends.  And I come from a family where words flow as freely as red wine at an AA meeting.

So, what I’m trying to say here, is that I have to push myself out of my comfort level in social situations.  It’s hard for me sometimes, but I have to say that when I do, I do get much more from the experience.   Yes, Sarah, I said it (I’m going to regret this, I just know it).  Thank goodness for being forced into these situations though.  Otherwise, I might very well be a hermit in the Yukon woods now, just me and my Prozac.

Sorry, this hasn’t much to do with increasing austerity.  I’ll make up for it over the weekend by deleting another few points off the PVR.   That’ll make me feel better.

By the way, I think the best measure of success in our austerity endeavour is best assessed by using the antonyms of “austerity” as a guide…  “elaborateness, extravagance, indulgence, spending”.

Using these as comparators, I think we are doing quite well so far.

Time for bed.

Glenn

