Tags

,

 

Since in my last blog I commented on photography, I thought I would search the Flickr database for any photos that were entitled “Austere”. This may appear to be a half-hearted attempt at continuity between posts.  However, as I am always honest with you, I will admit that I just couldn’t think of anything else to write.  And since a photo speaks a thousand words, well, here’s several thousand for you…

In viewing these photos, it is quite clear that interpretations and definitions of the term “Austere” are all over the map. Images that are supposed to “grasp” the true essence of Austere and are thus entitled include the following:  assorted churches, chapels and bell towers; equally assorted headstones, tombs and monuments, with a cairn or two thrown in for good measure; every bust imaginable (bust as in a molded head, that is); assorted Russians; a wide variety of dog and cat snouts (don’t ask); monks, priests, rabbis, Buddhas, etc. etc….; anything and everything in fog; any room that happens to be empty, even if it’s in Buckingham Palace; and a wide array of sunsets for good measure. There were also pages upon pages of photos about the US military which leaves me especially stumped, given that 50% of the US GDP is spent annually on its military. I was going to say that the word “austere” doesn’t exist in the US military lexicon until I saw the following…

US Marines set up austere…
from DVIDSHUB http://www.flickr.com/photos/dvids/6378177203/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I don’t know what you think, but doesn’t that look like some sort of bomb?  Supposedly, it’s called “Austere”.   Isn’t that just darling?

So, this next photo I like, because it so nicely outlines our daily struggle as a family this year.  I’m sure I saw this sign outside Starbucks the other day…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay.   Why is it that as soon as someone wears a turban they immediately become austere?   That’s probably his Bentley behind him….

 

 

 

 

 

 

I liked this photo below (also taken from the Austere archives) and was going to save it as a favorite (not only is it austere-looking, but I love the composition), until I read the title:  Jack the Ripper’s Playground.  Okay.  Pass on that one…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got a big chuckle out of this one below, entitled….”Austere shotgun range facility from the Canadian Army/Armee Candienne”.   This IS the Canadian Army, isn’t it?   I love the new uniforms.  So that’s what’s keeping Mark’s Work Wearhouse in business!!  I always wondered about that…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Huh?  Who you calling Austere?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now we’re talking.  Finally, a photo to do Austere proud….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, as you can see, this concept is a bit of a moving target.  Thanks for your continued patience as we strive to make austerity meaningful to us this year!

Glenn

