Tags

, ,

Is it just me, or does there seem to be a real lack of posts about food and diet lately? Odd, considering we are in dietary austerity month.   Well, I’m sorry to say that this post will not rectify this issue in any substantive way.   However, I can say that my recent foray into the practice of Yoga has had some impact on my eating.

After 6 drenching sessions in 10 days, I do seem to eat more, probably due to the calories I’m losing in the process.   At the same time, I seem to be gravitating to healthier food.  Choosing to have a salad or eat an apple, while somewhat less likely to partake of my nemesis – the almighty potato chip.   I do seem to be in higher spirits after leaving a class; more energetic too.  Perhaps this translates into a healthier mindset overall.  While I’m still struggling in the heat, and falling all over myself, I’ve become comfortable enough now to at least focus on my breathing.    This is good.

I’ve noticed too that I’m letting up on myself somewhat.   More willing to let go of things that would normally bother me.  I witnessed this most noticeably on the weekend when I took my motorcycle out for a lengthy ride.   It was what I would describe as a very relaxed hyper-vigilance.

I tend to be a very alert rider, well aware of the myriad dangers.   And it is this connection with the road that forces one to stay focused in spite of oneself.  But inherent in this is a level of tension.   But this time was somehow different.   I was very relaxed, my mind fluid, yet completely connected with what was going on around me.   It seemed to me that I was truly and fully living in the moment for the first time in a long time.

In a comment to my recent post “Path to Plenty”, one of our readers and a fellow rider Tom Wacker (see his blog at motorcyclebackroads.com), commented how he uses his riding as a means of meditation.  I think I understand what he’s getting at.

It struck me as I was riding along in my blissful existence, how much I allow my need for control to dictate my life.   I hate to have things out of my control.   I’m a worrier by nature, and this is nothing more than a direct result of trying to control the uncontrollable.   I consistently strive to keep my living in a finite band because anything outside of this is, well, frickin scary.   There are evil things called UNKNOWNS out there, don’t you know?

I’m a slow learner, but I think I’m coming to understand that, sometimes, I just have to release.  Let it go.   Have faith that the sky will not fall simply because I change my brand of soap.  Or, God forbid, expect that an outcome of a problem will be positive rather than the worst-case scenario that my mind always shunts to.

I want more rides like the one I had this weekend, damn it!

Now, this doesn’t mean that I’m going to be quick onto the dance floor, or suddenly morph my white man’s shuffle to the Flamenco.

Let’s not get too carried away with this.

Have a good few days.

Glenn

