Guten Tag, meine Freunde! (Good day, my friends!) Seeing as my trip to Germany will be underway in less than a week, I think I should begin to review my non-existent knowledge of the German language. Besides that, I have actually had a rather productive day of driving into Abbotsford with my dad and brother for some good ol’ canoe shopping. It’s really quite amazing that you can drive one short hour from where I live and suddenly be transported into some Southern Hick-ville…very strange. (Those of you that have ever been to Abbotsford will definitely know what I’m talking about!!)

 

While in the wonderful township of Abbotsford, after passing a couple anti-abortion signs, millions of churches and even a man in a cowboy hat, we decided to stop at Starbucks. While in Starbucks, I was quick to realize that the lady taking our order had a very large nose and not the best personality. This immediately reminded me of a little joke that my girlfriend and I have that says, ‘you can’t be ugly and mean, I mean seriously, pick one’! I told my dad of this little (large!) situation I had noticed and he immediately told me not to be so critical and mean. However, after a minute of thinking about it I had decided that it wasn’t mean, it was just me noticing the obvious.

One of the things I pride myself on is my kindness and niceness towards other people, however this has seriously got me thinking. If I am that quick to notice someone’s nose, does that make me a less nice person? I mean, we all have eyes, do we not? Technically shouldn’t we all be realizing these things about people? Whether it be that someone has an amazingly nice booty or that someone has buck teeth, isn’t that something we’re bound to notice just on account of the round, white things in our head?

So I guess what I’m trying to say is that you can’t beat yourself up for realizing negative (or positive, for that matter) traits of people, but you have to be careful not to let it influence your opinion of them. Maybe I will work a little harder on not noticing the things wrong with someone before I’ve realized some goods things. I think this is truly important as far as emotional austerity goes, because if we’re always letting things about others bother us, we’re going to be constantly annoyed! I think we should all focus on fixing things about ourselves before we attack others. Might be hard for me though, since I’m like perfect and everything. 😉 … xoxo Chloe

