Tags

, , ,

Today, as I sit down to write another fill-in post for Chloe, I honestly have no idea what I’m writing about.  I feel like with it being her typical posting day, I should write something of some relevance to her.  However, everything I think to write about that she would find of interest or that applies to her from my perspective, has very little to do with the Year of Austere.

Even now, I really don’t know what I’m writing.  I’m just hoping that a free flow of brain to keyboard will end up somewhere that resembles a publishable post.  Two years ago now, I participated in NaNoWriMo and this technique paid off amazingly well then, so we’ll see what comes out now.

Regardless, Chloe gets the day off and I find something to write about.  I could mention at this point, that I was able to exchange a few messages with her on Facebook today and she is having the time of her life and they’re going on a day trip to France tomorrow.  What the hell?  I totally got robbed as a kid.  I think she should have some penance to do when she returns, don’t you? Clean the house.  Subsist on bread & water.  Thank us every minute of every day.  Let’s get creative here…  The kid’s in Germany.  Amends must be made!

On the home front, Nicholas and I are holding up remarkably well.  Monday night saw us at a game & fish club for drop-in archery.  He loved every second of it.  Me?  I had fun watching him.  Let’s just leave it at that.  Last night was cheap movie night at our local theatre, and we took in a movie that shall remain nameless.  Chloe (See how I work her in there??) was insistent that we see it and assured me that the rating was just for a little gratuitous swearing, nothing else.  Hah!  Nicholas and I watched the movie with perhaps 15-20 other adults while a neon sign flashed above my head, “TOO LIBERAL!” Story.  Of.  My.  Life….  It was pretty hilarious though and needless to say, Nicholas loved every second.

Tonight, we are building a blanket fort that we’ll watch a movie in and then sleep in.  It was one of the things Nick insisted I put on my 101 in 1001 list. At least Glenn (sweet man!) brought in the pads that we take camping.  I think I might steal the down mattress pad from Chloe’s bed too.  Just because we’re in a fort doesn’t mean we can’t be comfy.

So, there you have it.  A much longer post than I intended.  I have been missing Glenn and Chloe, but have been enjoying the rare one-on-one time with my boy.  In the interim, perhaps reflect on the following passage by Dr. Seuss.  It is one of our favourites and my new mantra.  Take care, Sarah!! xoxo

