Howdy, y’all! I hope everybody’s Saturdays have been absolutely, mind-blowingly, fantasically amazing! As for my Saturday, I haven’t done much besides go to the beach and take photos with my mom (I needed a new FB profile picture), do homework and wish I was still in Germany. As much as I am enjoying being with my family and seeing my friends, everything about Germany is making my heart ache every moment I am away from it. I have never been so in love with a place in my entire life, and I truly think going there has changed my entire being. For the better, too!

Three short weeks ago when I was standing in the airport, excitedly waiting to board my plane to Germany – I was a completely different person than I am right now. My mind was wrapped around so many stupid, unnecessary things that had absolutely nothing to do with my future happiness, but more so how much money I was going to make and all the things I would be able to own. All I could focus on was which university I would go to, and what courses I would take to get the major I wanted, to be able to make as much money as humanly possible. How big of a house I would be able to purchase, with how many rooms and how many expensive pieces of furniture. I had a vision of getting my hair and nails done every other week, and to make sure I was dressed in the most expensive, showy outfit I could find. All to make sure that everyone knew I was Chloe Case, and that I was successful and that I had the perfect life.

After only two weeks in Germany, I realized that my perfect life really has nothing to do with how much money I earn or what kind of purses I own. My happiness is not based on how other people view me, as their happiness is not based on how I view them. The Germans will live in small homes, with regular clothing and take the bus every day – but they are no doubt the happiest people I have met in my entire life. They aren’t afraid of meeting new people, or commitment, or falling in love, or of being truly happy. No longer a life of luxury is one I want to live, all I want is to be married to the man of my dreams, living in a house that we have decorated together, with beautiful children and a wonderful life. A truly wonderful life.

Are we living in fear of being happy? Are we too worried about being burned along the way that we won’t even take the risk? Well that’s not how I will live my life from now on! No longer is my life goal to make tons of money and pop a bunch of children out. All I want is to be happy, and to make others happy along my journey. And honestly, if two weeks in Germany can change my entire outlook on life – I definitely will be back!! Until next time, Germany and fellow austerity-ites… xoxo Chloe

