Tags

, , ,

I was clamoring around at the base of our local 1001 Steps with my camera recently when I took this shot. I was on the ascent (I know, it sounds like Everest, and by the time you get to the top you feel like Hillary himself) when I looked over my shoulder and glimpsed this sunset through a wire fence erected to keep people off the nearby train tracks. Separated from this view by a man-made structure, it struck me as an apt representation of man’s interaction and relationship with nature. As I peered through this fence, my first reaction was one of longing. Sadness even. We as a race seem to be so intent on separating ourselves from nature, it makes one wonder at what point these metaphorical fences become permanent.

But as I lingered and enjoyed the beautiful sunset, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of hope as well. As Oscar Wilde so eloquently said…”What seems to us as bitter trials are often blessings in disguise”. While we place roadblocks in our way, we also have the capacity to find routes through them. And the ability to become stronger through learning from our mistakes.

In the end, I guess, it all comes down to how badly we want to!

Glenn

