Tags

,

In my final post for May, I thought I’d do a quick summary and disclose a future planned  environmental infringement.  Plotting to be bad is something I’m remarkably good at.

The garden has been a little intense this month, I have to say.  And, with minor exceptions, is was all good news for the environment.  I’ve weeded – all by hand, completely chemically free – as always.  (I know this may seem weird to some, but weeding is akin to meditation for me.  I find it oddly relaxing.  But, no, I won’t come weed for you…)  We’ve mowed – with our push mower.  When our gas powered mower met its maker several years ago, I convinced Glenn to buy an old-school mower and we love it.   Nicholas and I started our potted veggie garden from seeds and already have radish sprouting like crazy.  Considering I’m the only one in the house that likes radish, I might need to start a road-side stand.

As for our SUV, I spent the better part of a week looking online for a perhaps-replacement.  I came up with one thinkable/doable option, but it only seats five.  Every time I consider doing away with those two seats, I use them. Also, we need a 4WD for the snow.  To get a 7 seater 4WD that’s any more fuel efficient than what I have now is most likely out of our price range. Hybrids are pricy.  At the moment, we will stick with the status quo because it meets all of our criteria, but I will do my utmost to reduce my driving.

With regard to my “planned environmental infringement”, I said in my 101 in 1001 that I would participate in Operation Beautiful.  It will require the use of Post-It notes, I’m afraid.  Hopefully, they’ll be recycled, but I’m doing it anyway.  I think its a fun, worthwhile endeavour and Chloe and I plan to make our way around the ‘hood leaving uplifting notes in our wake ’cause we’re bad like that.  Have yourself a beautiful day!  You deserve it.  Sarah.

 

 

 

 

 

 

