Tags

, , , ,

My last post for the Environmental Austerity month has me thinking of Dr. Seuss.  It never ceases to amaze me how his words of wisdom ring as true today in adulthood as they did decades ago as a child.  Ethical behavior, he teaches us, is not a complicated thing.  In fact, it’s quite simple.  There is right and there is wrong.

But he acknowledges that ethical decisions are never easy.  They force us to dig deep to find the strength to pursue what we know to be right.  And he understands too that life is all about experience and growing and, as such, I find that there is much hope in his writing.  We all have the capacity, young and old, to learn from our mistakes and to become more ethical people.

I leave this month glad we have experienced it together as a family. Personally, I have taken a more critical view of my own attitudes and behaviors and, in some cases, have altered them for the better.  It is a start at least.  And it has given me pause to take measure of where we stand as a human race, and to remember that we are responsible for the world we leave to our children.

I will leave the last word to our friend the Lorax.

See you on Friday….

“The Lorax said nothing. Just gave me a glance…
just gave me a very sad, sad backward glance…
as he lifted himself by the seat of his pants.  And I’ll never forget the grim look on his face
when he heisted himself and took leave of this place,
through a hole in the smog, without leaving a trace. 
And all that the Lorax left here in this mess
was a small pile of rocks, with one word…
“UNLESS.””

