Tags

,

Now, I don’t know about the rest of you, but Chloe’s post yesterday hit me pretty hard. To say I was taken aback is an understatement.  It took me several re-reads and a thorough knowledge of her to get her message…. People need to come to things in their own time.  You can’t push, pull, shove, motivate or inspire someone who isn’t ready.  It may, in fact, do the exact opposite.

Casa Austere has been a beehive of conversations and theories and plans today.  I have to say that for the last 23 hours, I was done.  D. O. N. E.  First and foremost, austerity is hard.  Those rioting Europeans can back me up on this.  Austerity blows.  Second, blogging about it DAILY is perhaps even harder.  And, lastly, not being sure anyone is even reading or caring is pretty daunting.  Our stats have run the full spectrum…. from dozens of views to just over a thousand a day.  Tracking them can make a person mental.  So, to read Chloe’s gut-punch yesterday made me wonder what the point was any more???  And, honestly, I’m just not sure.  The only reason I’m writing today is because Nicholas said he’d fill in for me if I didn’t write.  He wants to keep going.  So, here I am.

So…  What exactly does motivate people to change?  Apparently, the seven top strategies are as follows…

  1. Equip people with knowledge.
  2. Leverage the leaders.
  3. Make it easy.
  4. Make it enjoyable.
  5. Allow participation.
  6. Nudge, don’t shove.
  7. Consider whether to reward behaviour.

Um…  Sorry, but are we in pre-school still?  Is this really what is takes to motivate or inspire people to do better, think better, act better??  Besides number one, I see the remainder as a really sad commentary on the state of the human psyche and our society in general.  No wonder our planet is so f*cked up.  Number 7 has to be my favourite though…  Do the right thing and you’ll get a pat on the head or a cookie.  Sad thing is these are pretty accurate.

Henceforth, consider me done with motivation or inspiration.  I’ve force fed all the positivity I can muster.  My blog posts will revert to being more journal-like. I have neither the time nor the energy to bake cookies for the whole planet. Not to mention the will.  Consider this yet another bump in the road this year.

Take care, Sarah.

