Tags

,

Bonsoir, lovers! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have had a very stressful week, complete with many days of attempted study sessions and final exams. I cannot wait to finally be finished with this grade ten nonsense. In better words, I can’t wait for there to be a serious austerity of school. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes if you were wondering, that was an incredibly sad attempt at making something that has nothing to do with austerity into a blog post about austerity… Awkward!

Speaking of awkward, isn’t that a strange word? I mean, the word itself is so very awkward… Am I right? And if someone could tell me how it has been turned into such a common word that describes everything, that would be awesome! Because this situation is quite…well, awkward! To clear a few things up, I googled the definition of awkward, so here we go…

Dictionary definition (directly copied and pasted):

1. Lacking skill or dexterity.
2. Lacking grace or ease in movement: an awkward gesture; an awkward dancer.
3. Lacking social graces or manners: a simple, awkward frontiersman.
4. Not well planned or designed for easy or effective use: an awkward instrument; an awkward method.
5. Requiring caution; somewhat hazardous: an awkward turn in the road.

Urban Dictionary definition (directly copied and pasted):

A common word overused by kids in junior high, almost in the same group with “LOL” and “random!”. Used to try and impress your preteen friends after or during a long pause between conversations. Also used by idiots whenever there is a pause in speech. Sometimes accompanied by a hand motion resembling a turtle or a turkey.

SNL definition (copied from listening to skit on TV, awkward…):

For those of you that don’t know, awkward is a white people word that can be applied to any situation.

What I have learned from these definitions is that I am definitely not an awkward person, I may just stumble upon awkward situations sometimes. I am a great dancer, I am polite, I don’t say ‘LOL’ or make turtle hand gestures, and I’m definitely not white!! (One of my best friends who happens to be black calls me ‘ghetto booty’… If that doesn’t make me black, I don’t know what does!) Henseforth, I have learned that I must work on not putting myself in such awkward situations. Such as writing this post. That just has SO much to do with austerity. JK, it doesn’t. JK, it does. Awkward… xoxo Chloe

