Tags

Well, I’m a post behind. Tuesday got away from me, and by the time I realized I hadn’t posted for the day, it was too late. Sorry about that. But it’s not like you’re waiting with bated breath for Glenn’s next installment.

As I think back on my week, I find myself back at the border crossing to Blaine, Washington on Sunday, creeping along on my motorcycle. It was the beginning of my usual Sunday morning ride, this one heading south to Anacortes. The morning was already hot, and the sun’s rays were beating down, mingling with the heat blasting from my complaining engine. As I sat sweltering in the barely moving line up, I watched with a mixture of longing and hatred as cars whizzed up in the Nexus lane beside me, quickly scanned their passes and were waved on through. Those bastards. I’ve seen this regularly at the airports where now Nexus holders scoot through with their noses in the air, leaving my fellow plebs and I in their dust. They always remind me of French Emersion school parents here in Canada, strutting about as if their kids are in Eton.

Then I remind myself why I do not hold one of those cards. I simply will not volunteer my fingerprints and other personal information just for the sake of keeping my life simple. We are all so caught up these days in speed and ease. We want everything, and we want it now, and we want it with as little discomfort as possible. How often do we consider what we are giving up for this? Are we so trusting in the powers that be? Or are we simply lazy?

We have spoken on a number of occasions in this blog about our desire to simplify our lives, and to reduce the excess and clutter of life. But this is one time where simplicity is not on, at least for me. I’ll take the clutter of people in the line up any day than give up what’s needed for this. An austerity of immediate gratification can only be a good thing. Don’t you think?

Glenn

