Tags

In my last post, I made reference to my continued connection to Newfoundland and my love of the landscape. Given the paucity of things to actually do in rural Newfoundland (ok, this is not me being critical again – it’s just a statement of fact), I did have ample time to take my camera and compose quite a few shots. Here are a few of these. Hopefully, you’ll have the opportunity to visit the place yourself in future, but alas I am a realist. Even most Canadians have not set foot on the place, which is unfortunate.

I will note here that the island still seems to be in an extended state of shock from the moratorium placed on cod-fishing by the Canadian government a full 20 years ago now.  This is particularly true for the rural areas that were hardest hit. One could say, “WTH, isn’t it time to move on?”. Yet, we must remember that one doesn’t let 500 years of tradition go quite so easily. This continued connection to the sea remains everywhere one looks. As you can see from the first photo, even the headstones face the ocean!

Glenn

“Always Facing Seaward”, by the Ambling Monk
http://www.flickr.com/photos/theamblingmonk/7817267882/in/photostream

“Little John” by the Ambling Monkhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/theamblingmonk/7816045946/in/photostream/

“In the Light” by the Ambling Monk

