Tags

, , , ,

The diagnosis is in. I am enduring manopause. Now, of course this is not a physician’s diagnosis because, well, that would involve actually visiting a physician which, as a man, I am loathe to do. No, this is the general consensus of all around my home lately. Thinking that this was unfairly levelled at me, I went searching for a definition of this so-called “condition”, intent on blowing these accusations out of the water. Being partial to the Urban Dictionary, this is what I found..

“Man-o-pause: A time when a man’s chemical balance becomes shifted and he has a breakdown and/or becomes an asshole. Symptoms include- Irritability, mood swings, thoughts of suicide, depression, over sensitivity, paranoia, and feelings of helplessness.

Holy crap. As I read this I was convinced that there would be a photo of me directly below it, with an arrow and a caption…”Photo of a typical manopausal man”. While I may be far from suicidal (I truly love my life), pretty much all of these other descriptors are on the mark. It has been an up and down year, no doubt about that. But as I look forward to the remainder of this year, austerity of negativity is definitely in order. I owe this to my family. I owe it to you, who are kind enough to read these posts. I owe this to me.

I was on StumbleUpon today, in search of positivity. I came across an excerpt from a book by Ron Padgett entitled “How to be Perfect”. I have taken from this a few pointers as to how to move forward in a positive fashion…

  • Be Friendly. It will make you happy.
  • Hope for everything. Expect nothing.
  • Be nice to people before they have a chance to behave badly.
  • Calm down.
  • Imagine what you would like to see happen, and then don’t do anything to make it impossible.
  • Don’t be depressed about growing older. It will make you feel even older. Which is depressing. (This one really hit home!)
  • Be good.
  • Love life.

Love life. I DO love life, but sometimes lately the day-to-day gets me down. I’d better watch it, or the days will be gone and the life that I love will be as well! Time to make the best of every day, even if it kills me :).

Yours in (future) positivity,

Glenn

 

 

 

 

